Freitag, 3. November 2017
October less fun
What can I share today?

Alb Marathon 50K was fantastic. The race is mostly individuals, but about 50 teams also participated. I ran on a team of 10, all Bosch employees, and go assigned the opening 5 kilometers. Expectations were stupid high, which made me anxious, considering the number of runs I had to skip due to vacations and baby troubles. (Nothing specifically has been wrong with Max. He just kinda sucks at life and has very strong opinions about how I should spend my free time.) But muscle memory prevailed, and I finished my 5K leg in 18:35. Running in the front pack of 5 was exhilarating, if not entirely deserved. I should run the first 5K of marathons more often. Our team ultimately finished 3rd overall, a 10-minute improvement over their performance last year.




Glühwein is available in stores these days, which means the Christmas season is upon us. (No, it’s not too early. Germany celebrates neither Halloween nor Thanksgiving.) I’ve already bought, I think, 3 boxes of the stuff. (“Boxes”, because it’s cheaper, of course.) It’s a few more weeks until the Christmas markets open. I’ll post pictures again this year. It’s our last Christmas in Germany. I’ll certainly miss the candied almonds and gingerbread, the Schupfnudeln and Fleischküchle. Elizabeth and I in the past have visited a wide variety of Christmas markets, including the world-famous Esslingen medieval market as well as that one in a cave. So this year we’ll keep it simple, no travel, support local. In any case, I’m too Scrooge-y to enjoy spending € 3 on a glass of Glühwein when I can buy at the grocery 5 times as much for just € 1. No, scratch that; I’m too David Tennant-y to enjoy that.




Elizabeth and I are wrapping up our German lives. Already I’ve exchanged my German driver’s license back for my Kentuckian. Various people have called dibs on most of our furniture. Being home—Kentucky has always been home—will be a relief, though I’ll miss pretty much everything about Germany. Except the language. The language still makes me feel stupid.

And last week I FINALLY celebrated Max's birth at work. The best part: Elizabeth and Max came, too. Everyone at the office loved Max. My coworkers passed him around without incident.

My phone’s camera is broken. Have I mentioned that? So we’ll see what pictures I can scrounge up for this post.

... comment