Sonntag, 5. Juli 2015
Hot and Sweaty
This week Elizabeth and I got our first taste of German summer. Our top-floor apartment is no place to be during 90+ degree heat. Now it makes perfect sense why all available apartments were top-floor apartments! Elizabeth and I are still working on a good strategy. The apartment is bearable until around noon or 1:00, but then staying inside is absolutely miserable. It's not until 6:00 or so that going back inside is an option. Even then it's not great. You can hide in a grocery store if you are desperate during the week (they have air conditioning, otherwise their chocolate would be dripping onto the floor). Unfortunately, on Sundays EVERYTHING is closed.

Long story short, life just sucks on days like today. My puddle of sweat on the floor is steadily growing, but I have an unspoken agreement that I will update this blog each week.

Not very much happened this week. Last Sunday, Elizabeth and I walked to a nearby town, Mutlangen. They were having a festival, filled with games, beer, and other goodies. We bought a few homemade muffins and enjoyed the excellent weather.

Work for me is becoming much more routine. I really like my coworkers. Everything is great except for the fact that my office is just as hot as the apartment. It is very difficult to concentrate when your pants are soaked.

Anyway, Elizabeth and I didn't take any trips this week. We didn't receive any new furniture or have any other firsts. All I can say is that we are happy, healthy, and still slowly learning the German language. I really want to be fluent. Not comfortably communicating with everyone around you can make you feel like an serious outsider. There are days when being out in public just makes you feel so stupid. It's much easier to stay inside, watching television shows that you can understand. But we'll keep at it, day after day. If we're lucky, maybe we'll speak 2nd grade German by the time we leave.

I hope everyone back home had an excellent 4th of July! We are waving our American flag high and proud from Germany.

July 4th

Until next week.

... comment

 
Well, go native: Get up early on hot and sunny Sundays and spend the day at the lake (e.g. Götzenbachstausee/Göggingen, Plüderhauser See, Naturbadesee/Gschwend, Ebnisee/Kaisersbach). Don't forget to take food for a picnic, a beach umbrella is also useful.

... link  


... comment