Dienstag, 4. August 2015
Normal Week Stuff
There weren't too many big things this week.

On Wednesday, Elizabeth went to the library with our German teacher. Elizabeth got her very own library card! And yes, I talked her into going with me on Saturday. We went to the very top... to the small children books. It is upsetting how difficult all of the "6 year old and under" books can be. There's not a single book out there that I feel comfortable with. Against our better judgement, we checked out a Calvin & Hobbes book, haha. Anyone familiar with those comics should know that it's a terrible choice for beginners like us.

BONUS! The library was having a sale of old books that day. We bought "Ramona" for 50 cents!! I dedicated about 30 minutes to it on Sunday and almost got through 2 entire pages. I hope this German version lives up to my childhood memories. Next I'll need to find "Superfudge" for sale. I have fond/nauseated memories of that book, rocking back and forth on a boat on the way to Canada with the family.

It doesn't look like I'll be getting my own library card, but I think it would be fun to make library trips a regular thing on the weekends (since it isn't open when I get home from work). That also is a very strong memory from my childhood. I hope they don't mind me writing in their books :)

Lastly, I ran an uneventful 15 mile run on Saturday and I still haven't gotten a haircut. Elizabeth keeps hinting that I have a mullet... which I strongly disagree with considering the hair on the top of my head is much longer than the hair on the back. It looks quite terrible. I might stop going outside soon.

Later!

... comment

 
It doesn't look like I'll be getting my own library card

Why not?

... link  

 
I was excited about the idea, but it doesn't make sense. I will always be able to be with my wife when I go to the library, so there is no real need.

... link  


... comment