Montag, 7. September 2015
Weindorf and other things
It is the weekend once again, so here I am to report on all of the most important news of the week.

Saturday was spent entirely at the Stuttgarter Weindorf. Weindorf is a large wine festival (45 different booths) held in Stuttgart every year. We walked from booth to booth trying different wines and eating various German treats. Unfortunately, I don't know the names of any of the wines I drank, but they were all pretty good. More importantly, I got a GIANT pretzel. It was very fancy, with an extra braid in the front. Elizabeth took pictures, so she'll need to post one for you. All in all, it was a festive, fun adventure. However, I think next time we should try something a little less expensive, haha.

We went to the festival with our American friends, Kyle and Chrissy (being the only two Kyles in Germany, it makes sense that we should hang out together). We have a lot in common, so it's nice we're all in Germany at the same time. On Sunday they adopted two adorable kittens! It sounds like we will be potential cat-sitters, so that will be fantastic. I wonder if they will get to meet Ozzie and Riker one day?



It was finally chilly enough Sunday for us to turn on our heat in the apartment. We should have turned it on much sooner than we did (Elizabeth has been wrapped up in a blanket for several hours). I'm not positive that I'm using the radiators correctly, because they sure don't get very warm.

On Tuesday, other Kyle and I went for a run. I can't remember the last time that I've run with someone else. Being the younger and fitter Kyle, he gets me to run faster than I'd run on my own. Kyle is a triathlon racer, so he's basically good at everything. It looks like he might join me in a few of my European marathons down the line.

Our first European vacation is coming up soon! I'll be away from work for nearly two weeks! I've never been away from a job that long before. It will be fantastic.

There isn't much else to report from last week. It feels like I am developing a good reputation at work. My German skills are still terrible, and I wish I had more time to work on it. One big problem is that I'm only able to study German at night, after work, when my brain is already mushy. I feel awful in German classes (typically 6:00 to 7:30) because I hardly participate whatsoever. I just glaze over like a potted plant. It's a good thing that Elizabeth is also there to pick up some of the slack. Practicing German during the day could potentially yield much better results. Too bad.

We miss everyone. I hope you are all doing great!

... comment