Sonntag, 7. August 2016
Ups!
Hi there! Doesn't "ups" look goofy to English-speakers? It's how you spell oops in German. There are a lot of those in German - sounds with the same pronunciation but a completely different spelling. My favorite is, now that our cats our German, they say "miau."

A long time has passed since my last post. Unfortunately, that's because we've done nothing interesting. The only big event was a city-wide festival in July that - there was jousting and general swordplay, lepers marching alongside acrobats amidst archery competitions.




We haven't made any big purchases. We haven't met anyone new. Elizabeth's English classes are on summer break. Our next trip isn't until late September, but I'm sure we'll have fun things to post about by then.

We also haven't had any German language classes in a few months. We prefer it if you don't ask us about it :)

I now work in a new building on the opposite side of the city. It takes a little longer to bike there, but at least there's air conditioning! Too bad we don't use it often enough - people in Germany are accustomed to toughing out the hot temperatures. My department is pretty small, but it's a really good group. Oftentimes at lunch we'll go for a walk outside, giving some of us time to catch some Pokemon. Others of us take naps.

Our closest friends are leaving Germany shortly. One is the German family who had helped us out so much is moving to the US later this month. And a few days ago we learned that our only American friends are also moving to the US, too! We're going to develop some severe abandonment issues.

I read lots of books recently. I started the Night Angel series (though I only have the first book). I read a Book Club book, A Friend of the Earth about how we're going to destroy the planet (it's more upbeat than it sounds). And I read Animal Farm and 1984 - because somehow my education skipped right over that one. Now I'm starting the Lord of the Rings because I've never read those either. That'll likely keep me busy for a few months.

We've heard that this summer in KY has been brutal. Elizabeth and I are happy to report that the German summer has been very mild! Though Germans hate it when we celebrate cold weather - they love the summer heat. more than anything in this world. Last year was absolutely unbearable, and so we were nervous about spending another several weeks in 90-100 degree heat with no air conditioning in sight (so much chocolate wasted!). I don't know if it has hit 90 more than once or twice. Regardless, we still hate you and your cool spaces. On far too many occasions I've had to sit at work at a desk 100% soaked through with sweat with coworkers laughing and teasing. Apparently I sweat more than anyone they've ever encountered.

Um... that's about it. We just started watching Preacher and Mr. Robot on Amazon.com. They are both very entertaining. But at 10 episodes each, they'll only last us a week or two. Check 'em out!

Have fun. Stay cool. See you at Thanksgiving!

... comment