Mittwoch, 17. Mai 2017
Questionnaire
Last week, work asked us to sum up our German experience. Since this Monday also marked 70% complete for me and Elizabeth, because I need to write blogs more often, and because there's no baby yet, I decided to share my answers with you guys here. No pictures this time. Sorry!


What is your home Bosch location?:
I come from FleP (KY).

Which location did you move to?:
I’m on assignment in Sgm-Z (Germany).

Length of assignment:
Originally 2 years and 8 months, though it has just been extended a little bit to 2 years and 11 months.

How long have you been in your new location?:
I moved with Elizabeth on May 1, 2015. We just celebrated our 2 year anniversary.

From a personal perspective can you provide some of the benefits of this expat experience?:
Of course I’ve learned about different cultures—unexpected ways that Germany is similar to the US (local stereotypes about Swabians are not unlike the stereotypes about Kentuckians) and unexpected ways Germany is different (total economic shutdowns on Sundays). Also, being an expat has challenged me in a number of ways (language, distance from familiarity, etc.) that I might’ve never risked without the safety net of Bosch underneath me.

Same question from a professional perspective?:
“Best practices” is the biggest benefit for me. Because I deal with every international location now, I’ve been able utilize our resources across the globe and combine for a much better end result.

What have you learned through this experience that you value the most?:
I have learned… that it’s okay to not be good at everything (language will probably never be my expertise). And to ask for help. I’ve needed so much help these past two years. When I return to FleP and we receive new expats, I will be much more aware of the help that they need.

How long did it take you and your family to adjust/settle in? Or are you still adjusting?:
My wife and I spent at least 5 months settling. After 6 weeks in a temporary apartment, we moved into our permanent home with only a refrigerator, pull-out couch, and a television. It was another 3+ months, and a lot of headache, before we finally got a kitchen. Washing dishes in the bathtub got old fast. Socially, we’ve adjusted in waves. We’ve acquired and lost (due to their relocation) several friends in Germany, each loss transporting us back to our awkward/loner phase. But now I feel confident that our friendship base is strong enough and large enough to no longer be an issue.

If you had to make the decision to do it again, would you? Why?:
I think I would. Germany is an amazing country, even without being able to speak the language. And I feel like this experience has changed me in millions of microscopic ways. We’ll find out next year if I have difficulty readjusting to Kentucky as a result.

Would you recommend the experience to other Bosch associates? Why?:
Short term? Absolutely. Being around completely different people with different beliefs and customs causes you to take a step back from your own beliefs and see them more objectively. It requires you to be open to ideas, to rely upon others, and to step out of your safety bubble.

... comment